Column: Using Google Earth for Genealogy Research

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

Title: Using Google Earth for Genealogy Research

Snippet: I’m a member of our local writers’ group. We often have writing exercises to stretch our imagination, and we use new tools to help us write better. One of those tools we recently used was Google Maps (https://www.google.ca/maps). Our task was to put a character in a location we’ve never been and write the setting description from their perspective.

I’ve used Google Maps and its partner Google Street View for a few years. Most of the time, I use them to virtually visit a place before I actually go there. For instance, when I attended a Christmas Craft Show last year, I went to Google Maps, typed the address into the search bar and zoomed into the image of the property. I got a view of the building, and saw where it stood in relationship to other structures around it.

Dragging the little yellow figure onto the map and plopping it in front of the building, makes the screen switch to Street View, and allows me to look up and down the road. I can even travel that road virtually to see other landmarks that help me pinpoint the exact location.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

2 thoughts on “Column: Using Google Earth for Genealogy Research

  1. Google Earth is my favorite! I love being able to find the places my ancestors live, and to “walk” down the street, getting a feel for the area. I’m in the US, with lots of ancestors from the UK, so it gets me to places I haven’t been.

    Like

    • It certainly is useful and quite amazing. Like you, I have a lot of ancestors in the UK, but I’ve never been there. Some day. Until then, I use Google Earth. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

      Like

Please share your thoughts on this post.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.