Column: Terrence Michael Punch: The Last Farewell

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

Title: Terrence Michael Punch: The Last Farewell

Snippet: More years ago than I can remember, I heard a voice come over the radio talking about genealogy. Since I had been researching my family tree for some time and was always looking for tips, my ear tuned in to what was being said. The well-spoken gentleman drew on his vast knowledge of history and genealogy to answer the question asked by a listener who had called in to the show.

Once the caller was satisfied, another caller came on the air and again, this soft-spoken man answered without hesitation. The radio personality also on the show, commented about the man not needing to refer to notes or books, that he held all this information in his brain. I was amazed. Although I could answer questions about my own family and those who lived in the communities with them, I could not do the same for all family surnames that settled in the Maritimes.

This man, who must have had a photographic memory, was no other than Terry Punch. His show on CBC Maritime Noon was popular for as long as it was on the air.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

