Column: Organising Genealogy Files on the Computer

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

Title: Organising Genealogy Files on the Computer

Snippet: This year marks the 20th anniversary since I started using computers. This doesn’t include calculators or my sister’s archaic DOS system with orange letters on a black screen in the late 80s. While that was a computer, it’s like comparing a scrub board to a front-load washing machine; both get the job done but in distinctly different ways for the user.

The learning curve for the modern computer was steep, but since I’m a fearless adventurer (in other words, I’ve crashed a few systems), I quickly learned the basics. In no time, I was creating documents, sending email and editing photos. All too quickly, my harddrive filled up with files all clumped together. Finding things began to take longer with each file I created.

Then I learned how to make folders. My early folders were made haphazardly and eventually, with dozens of files in each one, it became difficult to find things again. That’s when I developed the multi-tier system of folders and began naming them wisely. To this day, my 40 ‘mother folders’ can be viewed on screen without sliding the guide bar. These folders cover a wide-range of topics, which are further broken down within the folder.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

