Column: Educated Genealogy Guesses

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

Title: Educated Genealogy Guesses

Snippet: Many times in my genealogy research, I’ve found myself not know how to find information on a particular person. This often made me skip to another section of the tree that was easier. Over the years, however, I have learned tricks to help me solve these problems. One of these tricks involves making guesses, some wild and some educated.

Educated guesses can be as simple as taking a date of death and subtracting the age at death to come up with a date of birth. This is an accurate method if the date and age are correct but many times, they are not. Still, the educated guess should provide a date within a few years of the correct date.

Years ago, when I was young and naïve, and I attempted to make guesses at a person’s age or birth year using their spouse’s as a base, in general, I would assume the wife was zero to five years younger than her husband. I mistakenly applied the current standard to the lives of those born more than 100 years ago. I have since learned this can be very wrong.

A few months ago, I saw a marriage record for a man in his seventies. He married a woman who was 22 years old…and had children by her.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

2 thoughts on “Column: Educated Genealogy Guesses

    • Hello, Shamwest. No, they can’t appear anywhere online (other than on the newspapers’ websites) while they are current due to my contract. However, I do post an old column on Tuesdays

      Thank you for your interest in my column.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

