Column: Accidents and Incidents on Canadian Railways

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

Title: Accidents and Incidents on Canadian Railways

Snippet: When I was young, I spent a lot of time exploring the woods. By the time I was twelve, my wandering grounds stretched two miles from home. At this distance, we crossed a brook, scooted through thick underbrush and came out onto the railway tracks.

My parents never gave me the lecture of staying off the tracks because they either didn’t know the tracks were this close to home or they didn’t know I walked that far into the woods. Although my friends and I travelled the tracks many times to explore and to fish at the river, we were lucky a train never passed while were on them. I think it was because it was a dying line. By the time I was 30, the tracks had been torn up and made into a walking trail.

Not everyone walking on tracks or travelling on trains were as lucky as I was. I currently live with a busy railway only a few hundred feet away, and I know of numerous accidents—both fatal and non-fatal—that have occurred nearby. As time passes, these incidents fade into memory and details are forgotten. I often didn’t know the full details anyway or the outcomes of investigations into them.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

