Column: We are Living in the Digital Dark Age

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

Title: We are Living in the Digital Dark Age

Snippet: Two friends and I were talking about decluttering our houses. It’s a mammoth task for the average individual who has put more than 40 years behind them. My plans are to retire into a tiny home, so much of what I have has to go.

My philosophy to reducing possessions is I keep only what I use. That means two tea mugs, not 30. The only exception is my research papers, photographs, documents and other written material that can never be replaced. The quick and easy answer given by many today is to digitize it all and store it on one external harddrive. The originals can be tossed. At this suggestion, a shiver races down my spine.

It was similar to the shiver that occurred when a neighbour said she took her old photo albums, scanned the pictures and tossed the paper copies. She bragged about how much space it freed up. I cringed thinking about how much family history she had lost; digital is temporary, not permanent storage that will see the next generation.

When I mentioned this to my friends, one commented about a book she was reading telling about how we are living in the next Dark Age.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

