Column: Catholic Irish and Protestant Irish in Canada

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

Title: Catholic Irish and Protestant Irish in Canada

Snippet: I haven’t studied any religion in depth. I’m more of a browser, reading bits and pieces of various religions and cults that have been created over the centuries to try and understand why people lived the way they did. With this curiosity, I began reading about the religions that separated the Irish.

During most of my early life, I heard news reports about Catholics and Protestants battling it out in Northern Ireland. When I was younger, I thought they were stories from long ago because no one in my small world hated another simply because of their religion.

As a young teen in the late 70s, I learned the stories were current and told about a religious war fought in the modern-day world. It was foreign to me, and I couldn’t wrap my brain around it because—to my knowledge—it didn’t happen in Canada. Why couldn’t they just get along?

Living in the New World (Canada) separated me from the ways of the Old World (Europe) even in the 1980s. I was taught in history that immigrants came to the New World (Canada or the United States) to have religious freedom, yet I now know from my own research into history and genealogy that this didn’t always happen. Many of the issues followed settlers to their new life.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

