Column: Unlocking the Mystery with DNA

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

Title: Unlocking the Mystery with DNA

Snippet: The results of my sibling’s DNA test arrived this week. Anxious to see what secrets it may unlock, I eagerly reviewed the data sent to me and compared it with my genealogy research.

After researching my family tree back to the early 1700s using the paper trail (such as census and vital records), I was fairly certain about the origin of my family lines. I also knew a lot of history, so while the Tibert (Diebert) line was German, I also knew they hailed from an area that may have been influenced by the French. My Scottish ancestry could have been influenced by the Irish and English.

From my research, I have discovered the origin of my ancestry to be 50% English, 25% German, 12.5% Irish and 12.5% Scottish. Although I have theories of other bloodlines, I don’t have the paperwork to support them, so to date, the percentages noted are what I’ll use to compare to what the family DNA discovered.

The results of the DNA test revealed the following: 48% Great Britain (England, Scotland, Wales), 18% Scandinavia (Sweden, Norway, Denmark), 15% Ireland (Ireland, Wales, Scotland), 9% Italy/Greece and 8% West Europe (Belgium, France, Germany, Netherlands and surrounding areas).

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

