Column: Old Directories are an Excellent Source of Information

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

Title: Old Directories are an Excellent Source of Information

Snippet: One of my best genealogical finds was the 1975 telephone book for Halifax and Dartmouth, NS. The kids and I were travelling the backroads and were stopping at various yard sales along the way. We came upon an older gentleman who had cleaned out his garage and was selling his unwanted possessions.

Scanning the tables, I spotted an old, thick book with a hard cover. On closer examination, I found it to be a telephone book. I asked him how much he wanted for it. In my mind, I was considering what I’d pay for it: five dollars? ten dollars? I wouldn’t go over fifteen. When he said fifty cents, I was shocked. I handed him two quarters and walked away feeling as though I had stolen the book.

Perhaps there is a small group of people who are wondering why I’d be excited to buy a telephone book regardless of the price. Even if it was from 1975, it’s just full of names and numbers that no longer apply; no one gets excited over telephone books because they’re everywhere. What they may not realise is the difference between old and new telephone books.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

