Column: Why You are Not Breaking Down Those Brick Walls

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

Title: Why You are Not Breaking Down Those Brick Walls

Snippet: I didn’t stumble upon the first brick wall in my family tree until I was months into my research. Up until that point, all the information I sought was found easily. I merely needed to write it down in an organised fashion. I was so busy with information overload, I had no time to wonder what information evaded my search.

The first line I followed was my father’s surname; it was easy to do and in short time, I had basic information on the first Tibert (originally Diebert) who settled in Canada. My father’s mother’s line wasn’t as easily navigated, and I soon ran into a roadblock. My mother’s family names were even worse. Almost twenty years later, there are still pieces missing from these trees for people living two centuries ago.

But I never give up. I am always on the lookout for tips on how to solve what many genealogists call brick walls. Recently I stumbled upon a blog post titled “The 13 Reasons You Can’t Break Down Your Brick Walls”. The author stated, “These are not the only reasons a person might hit a brick wall, but in the vast majority of cases one or more of these observations apply.”

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

