Column: More than 80,000 Genealogy Books to Search

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

Title: More than 80,000 Genealogy Books to Search

Snippet: I love books, and one day I dream of a library with an extensive collection of the ones I love. But I have accepted the fact I can’t own every desired book. Not only would I not have the space, but all books can’t be acquired.

When it comes to genealogy books, I have a few dozen (or more). I keep them for various reasons, but I don’t need a copy of every book my family is mentioned in. One name mentioned in a 300-page book does not warrant the need to purchase it if that page can be printed for safekeeping.

The arduous task is to find that one page among millions of other published pages, so information can be harvested and stored. Although some researchers can spend hours a day pouring over every book they find, I can’t. Thankfully, with digital and search technology, I don’t have to.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Subscribe to Roots to the Past

Please share your thoughts on this post.

