Column: Ownership of Your Genealogy Research

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

Title: Ownership of Your Genealogy Research

Snippet: When I started researching my family tree, I recorded everything by hand. If someone wanted a copy, I went to the library, made a photocopy and gave it to them with remarks. The comments might include things such as, I haven’t had time to research this family name, so there’s not a lot there, or I can’t find anything on this person; it’s like they disappeared from Earth.

Handing over my research might also include such instructions as, Please don’t share this with anyone. If someone is interested in having a copy, they can contact me. If you find anything to add to what I have, please share. Sharing with someone you know or meet face-to-face is one way to retain some control over who has your information and how they will use it. But there are no guarantees.

Another benefit to sharing directly with someone is you decide which information to share. There’s no need to provide the information on your father’s side of the family if the person connects to you only on your mother’s side. You can also remove pieces of information you consider sensitive or inaccurate.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

