Introducing Tangled Roots and Trees blog

Schalene Jennings Dagutis is the author of Tangled Roots and Trees blog. She began blogging in 2013. Genealogists can also follow Dagutis on Twitter and Facebook.

Besides a blog, Tangled Roots and Trees also features these sections.

52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks

Schalene accepted a challenge in 2014, where she had “one blog post each week devoted to a specific ancestor. It could be a story, a biography, a photograph, an outline of a research problem — anything that focuses on one ancestor.”

World Wide Genealogy

From Schalene’s page: “I first heard about Worldwide Genealogy – A Genealogical Collaboration from Fran Ellsworth, author of the Branching Out Through the Years blog. She sent me to Julie Goucher, of Anglers Rest, who told me there was one spot still available — the 25th. So that is my day.

“I want to concentrate my monthly posts on Virginia and highlight various genealogy resources the commonwealth has to offer. I might also branch out and tell the Jennings murky story about the inheritance fraud and why it is so hard to “cross the pond” with this branch of my family tree.”

War Stories

She lists stories from the Indian Wars, Revolutionary War, Civil War, Spanish-American War, First World War, Second World War, Korean War and the Vietnam War.

Slave Name Roll Project

From Schalene’s page: “As a way to give back to my fellow African-American genealogists, I am going through my ancestors wills and property records and posting any information about a named slave I find. If you would like to join me in the Slave Name Roll Project, simply submit a comment to this post which includes a link to your roll and I will it include on this page.”

Check out this blog at Tangled Roots and Trees.

Subscribe to Roots to the Past

Please share your thoughts on this post.

