Column: Decluttering Doesn’t Mean Trashing Family Treasures

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

Title: Decluttering Doesn’t Mean Trashing Family Treasures

Snippet: I’m in the middle of decluttering the house I live in. I’ve been here twenty years and like many people, I have gathered two decades’ worth of stuff. My goal is to downsize to a house half the size and still have plenty of free space. Obviously, this will be easier when the teenagers advance to their independant years.

In some instances, trashing, selling and donating items to the thrift store in easy. These are the items I no longer want or use. I am not emotional attachment to them. Without thought, I bag and remove them from the house.

In other instances, I give an item careful consideration before I keep or toss it. And then there are the other items, the ones without a doubt will remain with me until the end. This includes things such as family photos, genealogy files, books, letters and family treasures.

I recently came across a discussion online concerning decluttering advice. Like others, a few items on the toss-list shocked me. The first one dealt with boxes of photos, a sensitive topic for this long-time photographer. They suggested to trash landscape shots.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Subscribe to Roots to the Past

Please share your thoughts on this post.

