Column: Email Virus Infecting Mailing Lists

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

Title: Email Virus Infecting Mailing Lists

Snippet: Viruses are nasty things. It seems there is no limit to the number that wants to corrupt our systems, disrupt our lives and make me want to pull out my hair. I often wonder about the people who create them; what sort of deprived lives do they live that reduces them to this low-life activity.

Virus protection software will guard computers from most viruses but not all. My first virus came when my system was loaded to the hilt with virus protection. The worm that got me was new and not yet in the software’s radar, so it reduced my system to a useless pile of wires, integrated circuits and plastic only a tech could salvage.

Since then, I’m the front line defence against viruses. I can’t stress this enough: in spite of all the money we spend on virus software, if you can spot suspicious activity on the Internet and in your email, you’ll stop most viruses before they get to the software.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

