Column: What a Genealogist Wants for Christmas

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

Title: What a Genealogist Wants for Christmas

Snippet: With Christmas less than a week away, thoughts of what I’d like to see beneath the tree swirl in the realm of possible and impossible. When asked by family members what I’d like, I stick to the items they can actually purchase, such as photocopy paper, notebooks and markers.

My family is not interested in genealogy research, so if I asked for a particular software or database, they’d look at me as if I spoke a different language. In this case, gift certificates work best.

A few useful items even non-genealogists can find include the following:

1) External Harddrive: This invaluable device is where I back-up all my files, including photographs and audio recordings. If my computer crashes or gets a virus, I have everything saved. Although it’s recommended to keep the external harddrive plugged into the computer at all times, so it won’t miss a scheduled back-up, don’t do it. Back-up and unplug. Viruses will infect the external harddrive too.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

