Column: Simple Inexpensive Christmas Gifts

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

TitleColumn: Simple Inexpensive Christmas Gifts

Snippet: Life is busy. Everyone is in a rush, and our days have become more complicated than ever. So when I look at the weeks leading up to Christmas, I think, “How can I make it simple?” I’ve never been one to go all out for the holidays. A few lights, a real tree, some gifts and a few treats satisfy me.

I have the same philosophy towards gifts: keep it simple. There’s 364 other days in the year that need to be paid for, so I limit spending for that one day while at the same time giving a meaningful gift.

Each year, I try to choose gifts that connect with the receiver though sometimes a busy life forces me to give up and just buy something to cross off a name on my list. Meaningful gifts to me are gifts about family and our history. In the past, these have been in the forms of images and homemade books.

One year, I sketched the house my mother grew up in as it was in the 1940s. I had used several old images as references to compose the sketch, and I questioned family members (including Mom who didn’t know what I was up to) to form an accurate picture. The colourful reminder of the past hangs on Mom’s livingroom wall for all who visit to see.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

2 thoughts on “Column: Simple Inexpensive Christmas Gifts

  1. You are truly right on the ball about Christmas gifts and spendings …I do believe that the meaning of Christmas is too much materialized…way too much…lové your column!! Keep them coming!!

    • Hello Giselle. Thank you for your kind message. I understand why large companies want to commercialize Christmas, but I don’t understand how so many people are drawn into it. I still believe Christmas is only one day, not two complete months. I’m happy you enjoy my column. Thank you.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

