Column: Remember

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

TitleColumn: Remember

Snippet: My childhood was filled with many things: camping, school, fishing, reading. I learned a lot from the activities I did and from the people I knew. Like most children, I was like a sponge, taking in information like I needed it to survive. And like most children, my young mind couldn’t always comprehend what I learned.

Fast forward to my late teens, to when I was reading a book about the First World War. I kept wondering when they’d mention Napoleon Bonaparte. After all, he was the fellow who started that war. When he didn’t show up, I went looking for the reason why. To my surprise, Napoleon had nothing to do with the Great War. In fact, he was the guy who started the Napoleonic Wars (1803-1815) more than a hundred years beforehand. Canada wasn’t involved.

I wondered why the information about the wars got mixed up in my head. The only conclusion I came to was there was too little information to sort it all out. The school system didn’t discuss the wars Canada participated in like they do now. I recall extensive coverage on the War of 1812, but nothing on the anything after that.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

