Column: Old Maps Help Locate Ancestors’ Homes

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

TitleColumn: Old Maps Help Locate Ancestors’ Homes

Snippet: The first map I studied when I was a kid was probably a standard road map. Even as a youngster, I wanted to know where I was going, where Point A was in relationship to Point B. I needed to know where our house and those of relatives were situated on the map. It grounded me and gave me a sense of something concrete.

The maps I loved the best were the topographical ones. The poster-size charts were larger than the average road map, but they didn’t display as much area. Instead, they zoomed in on communities and marked where houses and other structures were located. This type of map allowed me to plan hiking trips through the forest to reach the rivers where I’d fish.

The other unique feature about these maps was the ability to label the houses with the name of the family who lived there. This may not have seemed important at the time, but years later, when I came across the map, it triggered memories of people who had long since left the neighbourhood.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

