Column: Old Illnesses on Death Certificates

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

TitleColumn: Old Illnesses on Death Certificates

Snippet: A week ago, I had the unfortunate experience of puncturing the back of my hand with a barb from metal fencing while cleaning the barn. I wiped away the wee spot of blood from the pin hole, slapped on a bandage and kept working. Almost immediately, this wound felt different than the thousands of other cuts and scratches I’ve experienced in life. Still, the barn needed to be cleaned, so I ignored the unusual feeling and kept working.

Two hours later, I could ignore it no longer. The pain had increased to a point I couldn’t push the pitch fork into the soiled hay. The back of my hand looked as though someone had pumped it full of air. My fingers were curled forward, and to straighten them caused great pain.

A short time later, a nurse was examining my hand at Emergency. She asked if I had had a tetanus shot in the past ten years. I chuckled and said, “I got one in grade seven. That was 1981.” The protection of a tetanus shot lasts only a decade, so I’ve been ‘living dangerously’ for 24 years. A short time later, I left Emergency with a fresh dose of vaccine in my blood system and a prescription for penicillin to help fight the infection.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

