Column: Writing a Life Story

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

TitleColumn: FREE Genealogy Websites

Snippet: As a fiction writer, I have learned the basics of story writing. My first step is to think about what I want to write. I consider the characters, plot and setting. I envision scenes, conflicts, challenges and resolutions.

Once I have an idea of what is going to happen, I brain-storm. On a piece of paper, I draw a circle with several lines extending outward from its circumference. I write the story title in the circle. At the end of each line, I write a word or phrase to remind me of things that will go in the story.

This is still the development stage, so I can write down ideas that might appear far-fetched. They may not make the final cut, still, if the imagination is not stretched to include those near-impossible ideas, I might never find a new and exciting story line that will catch readers by surprise.

I take the ideas from the brain-storming circle and use them to create an outline. That’s a chronological list of when the ideas will appear in the story. I think of it as a road map.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

