Column: Revisiting Old Branches of the Family Tree

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

TitleColumn: Revisiting Old Branches of the Family Tree

Snippet: This week I was contacted by a woman I’ve never met before. Her ancestors live on the branch of my father’s grandmother’s tree. She was interested in sharing information on this line with the hopes of—like all of us—filling in the blank spaces.

She sent what she had on my great-grandmother, Jane Baker, and Jane’s descendants. As I reviewed her data on this branch and compared it to mine, I realised I hadn’t visited this section of the family tree for a long time. It was so long in fact several new databases had become available, ones that would add substantial information to my files. This included the 1921 Canada Census.

As I examined the information I had for each person in a family unit, I filled in some of the blanks that were now easily completed by a quick Internet search of official vital, census and military records. This information led to other pieces of the puzzle, and hours later, I found myself with a much larger branch for Jane Baker, a woman who married twice, raised her own children, those of her second husband and a few of her grandchildren.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

