Column: Genealogical Societies are a Product of the Past

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

TitleColumn: Genealogical Societies are a Product of the Past

Snippet: Six years ago, I learned about a local artist group that accepted not only new members but members who were still learning their skills. I was an amateur with no formal training permitted to join a group where several members were professionals with formal art education. To say I was excited was an understatement.

I paid my dues and waited for the first ‘event’: meeting, workshop, newsletter, etc. A year passed in silence. I reluctantly paid my dues for a second year and let the person know I was interested in participating. “Send me an email, give me a call, let me know what is happening. Is there a website I can find information on activities?”

That year I received a letter in the mail informing me about a meeting to elect board members. Unfortunately I had to work that day so missed it.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

