Column: My Five Biggest Genealogy Mistakes

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

TitleColumn: My Five Biggest Genealogy Mistakes

Snippet: There’s a list circulating online called “Seven Common Genealogy Research Mistakes to Avoid” by Lisa Lisson, a genealogist and family historian. If you are part of the online genealogical community, you’ve probably seen this.

Instead of repeating that list here, I’ll make note of the five biggest mistakes I’ve made since I began researching my family tree more than twenty-five years ago.

  1. Disorganisation: When I first began my research, I made notes on random pieces of looseleaf. They were stuck in a folder until the pile grew too thick, then they were put in a binder. Finding information took longer than necessary, and sometimes I would record things twice because I didn’t know I already had it.
  2. Unreliable Memories: Children interpret the world differently than adults, and sometimes the impressions last long into adulthood.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

