Column: Racing to Keep Up with Technology

Between today and Wednesday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin (Lunenburg County)

TitleColumn: Racing to Keep Up with Technology

Snippet: Nothing stays the same. Well, that’s not entirely true: the sun rises in the morning, sets at night; winter slowly transforms into spring; weeds grow faster than cultivated plants. These things are a given, old standbys, but in general, things are always changing.

These changes are obvious in the technology we use today. When I set fingertips on my first keyboard back in the 1980s, we were using large, 5 1/2 inch floppies to store our data. Within a few years, I carried around a small box of 3 1/2 inch floppies that were more solid, and in my mind, more secure.

Fast forward to the early 2000s and the shelf beside my desk became home to CDs and DVDs that stored and backed-up my files. I wrongly believed this was it; I would store my data—everything from my family tree files to my digital photos—on these discs and save them forever. In twenty years, I’d simply pop one into the computer and voila! All my digital stuff would be there…forever.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

One thought on “Column: Racing to Keep Up with Technology

  1. Pingback: Column: Racing to Keep Up with Technology | meetupanddiscuss

Please share your thoughts on this post.

