Roots to the Past Book

This past October, Roots to the Past—the column—celebrated nine years in publication. When I look back over the years, I think about the number of columns I’ve written and the topics I’ve discusses. It’s been quite a journey.

For some time now, I’ve wondered what I would do with all the ‘old’ columns. Many of them are still relevant and can be used today by genealogists, particularly those new to the hobby.

I’ve also received many requests from readers asking about a particular topic, or asking how they could read a column if they didn’t subscribe to a newspaper.

All this questioning and requesting got me to wondering, wondering about bringing the old columns back to life…in book format.

And so the process began.

The first step was to gather all the columns from the past nine years in one spot: the current computer I’m working on. This was no easy task since the beginning of Roots to the Past was three computers and one computer crash ago. It started when I was still using CDs for backup.

But now the columns are collected in one space, and the harvesting of the best of the first five (2005 to 2010) years has begun.

To date, I’ve organise the ten columns published in 2005 and seven of the fifty-four columns in 2006. I’m keeping my focus on the four Atlantic Canada provinces: Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland and Labrador. This was my goal in the beginning, and though my column is no longer published in PEI, I still wish to include information to help researchers in this province.

I’ll post occasional updates of my progress to this site. I’m not sure how long it will take to organise the more than two hundred and fifty columns, recheck facts and revisit links to see if they are still working.

aNewLogoDiane

One thought on “Roots to the Past Book

Please share your thoughts on this post.

