Column: A Home for a Child

Between today and Saturday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Tuesday: The Kings County Record (Sussex)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin

Thursday: The Western Star (Corner Brook)

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Title: A Home for a Child

Snippet: I was fortunately an average child. I grew up in an average house with an average family. Home was home, and during my childhood I entered the same front door, day in and day out. I didn’t know what it was like to live anywhere else until my early-twenties.

People might call my childhood boring, but I don’t, especially when I know everyone wasn’t as lucky to have such an average start to life. Many children in the world don’t know where they’ll sleep or where their next meal might come from.

This was very true for hundreds of children living in London in the 1800s. It was a time of much change, disease, hardship and poverty. Children were the unfortunate victims of this era. One man set out to change this.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

