Column: Discovering the Real Cost of Birth Certificates

Between today and Saturday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Tuesday: The Kings County Record (Sussex)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin

Thursday: The Western Star (Corner Brook)

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Title: Discovering the Real Cost of Birth Certificates

Snippet: If I stood next to my mailbox and looked down the road for as far as I could see—which is almost two kilometres—I would still not see the end of the line of people who are eyeing my money. Some of those individuals rightly deserve it, but most of them don’t. They’re what my father would call shysters. My generation called them con-artists. Today they call them scammers. Whichever tag we place on them, they’re still after one thing: money.

Armed with this knowledge, I’m cautious about phone calls and email messages from individuals who want to gain access to my credit card or banking information. Still, I was surprised when I stumbled upon what appeared to be an official website that provided copies of birth, marriage and death certificates. This was not a genealogy site that offered historical records; this one provided current vital records.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

UPDATE: I received a reply from Service Newfoundland regarding Vital Certificates. This is what the office had to say: Vital Certificates “is a legitimate site but it is not affiliated with any government in Canada. The Vital Statistics Division of Service NL always recommends to customers that they contact one of our Government Service Centers or go to our website at www.servicenl.gov.nl.ca for all the information they will need when purchasing marriage/birth/death certificates.”

In this case, it is buyer be wise.  It’s illogical and extremely expensive to use a ‘middle man’ to obtain a vital record from any office in Canada.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

