Column: Salvaging Family Treasures Before Demolition

Between today and Saturday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Tuesday: The Kings County Record (Sussex)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin

Thursday: The Western Star (Corner Brook)

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Title: Salvaging Family Treasures Before Demolition

Snippet: I hadn’t planned to be there. It was a last minute outing, a simple invitation to accompany my sister to check out an old woodstove she’d seen advertised for sale. As I followed the stranger who owned the stove towards the ramshackle building where an elderly woman once dwelt, I couldn’t help but think of the many similar thresholds I had passed over in my life.

This home, unlike many built today in this artificial world, didn’t possess curb appeal. Still I eagerly entered, smiling as the musty smell of age wafted into my nose. I relaxed immediately, feeling welcomed into familiar surroundings though I had never laid foot on this floor.

Entering the abandoned house gave me the feeling of home, of places in my memories where family and friends of family had welcomed me into their lives. If I closed my eyes I could imagine linoleum flooring—marked from years of traffic—a low ceiling, walls painted white, a small kitchen table surrounded by mismatched chairs, a cast iron frying pan, a hand-pump next to the kitchen sink, an old, faded picture of the Queen in her youth and a calendar dated sometime in the past graced with a picture of a schooner.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

