Column: Cemeteries Preserved Online

Between today and Saturday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Tuesday: The Kings County Record (Sussex)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin

Thursday: The Western Star (Corner Brook)

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Title: Cemeteries Preserved Online

Snippet: It’s raining outside. It’s been raining a lot in the past month. Even when it isn’t actually raining, walking through soggy, grassy fields makes my feet wet. Wearing rubber boots doesn’t help keep my pants dry when the grass is up past my knees or when I’m squeezing between tree branches and bushes. Perhaps I need hip-waders or a wet suit to stay dry while exploring cemeteries, particular old ones that have been left untended for years.

I’m not made of sugar, still the thoughts of getting wet to the skin when the weather is cool is unappealing. Not that I haven’t done it, but if I have the option to search cemeteries in the dryness of my kitchen, I’ll take it until the weather clears.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

