Column: Canadian History One Snippet at a Time

Between today and Saturday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Tuesday: The Kings County Record (Sussex)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin

Thursday: The Western Star (Corner Brook)

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Title: Canadian History One Snippet at a Time

Snippet: “If some countries have too much history, we have too much geography.” ~ W. L. MacKenzie King (1874-1950)

The other day my nephew and I were talking about time, or should I say the lack of it. I told him the speed of life hadn’t always been so fast. Twenty years ago, I didn’t feel like I was running a race; instead I felt I had time to sit and chat on the front step with family and friends.

Back then I had the time to actually visit people for a few hours without thinking, “I should be doing (fill in the blank); I don’t have time to sit here and gab away the afternoon.” I also had time to share jokes while resting on a garden rake, take a boat ride on the harbour to fish for mackerel and sit back in the sun and read a good novel or history book; all of that while working full time and without the feeling of urgency.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

