Column: Publishing Your Family History Has Never Been This Easy

Between today and Saturday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Tuesday: The Kings County Record (Sussex)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin

Thursday: The Western Star (Corner Brook)

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Title: Publishing Your Family History Has Never Been This Easy

Snippet: After years of genealogy research, some might ask themselves, “What do I do now?”

All that information could sit on a computer until technology deems it obsolete. At the speed programs and hardware are advancing, that could be as little as ten years.

Updating software and systems keeps data accessible, and back-up devices, such as external hard drives, prevents it from getting lost forever, but what if someone says, “I’m done; I don’t want to research anymore. I want to make my information available to everyone who wants to see it today and thirty years from now.”

Another genealogist might ask, “I’ve discovered everything I’ve set out to find and although I add a piece of information here and there, I want to share it with others, including family members who don’t use computers. What are my options?”

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

4 thoughts on “Column: Publishing Your Family History Has Never Been This Easy

  1. What about us Americans who are very interested in what you have to say and can’t “pick up” one the the listed papers?

    • Hello, Laura. Due to contract obligations, I can’t post current columns online. However, over the past few months, I have posted old columns. I have more than six years of writing to share, and plan to do this on the blg.

      I believe a few of the newspapers allow access to some of the columns for short periods of time, but then charge to read them. They keep changing what is and isn’t available, and I can’t keep up.

    • Hi, Carl. Full subscriptions to newspapers are available for some newspapers, but I don’t think you can subscribe to only the column. They used to have a pay-to-view archives, but I couldn’t find it the last time I looked.

      Thanks for visiting.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

