Column: Researching Down East

Between today and Saturday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Tuesday: The Kings County Record (Sussex)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin

Thursday: The Western Star (Corner Brook)

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Title: Researching Down East

Snippet: Down East has a nice ring to it. It was what my family said when we packed our bags and fishing rods and headed to where my father had been born and raised: Liscomb Mills. I spent many joyous times throughout my life down east. Where were you last week? “Down East.” Where are you going this weekend? “Down East.” It slipped off our tongues as easy as a toddler would say Momma.

When I went out west to work in the Rockies, I met many others who were from Down East. In Alberta, down east referred to everyone east of Quebec; it didn’t mean they were from Liscomb Mills. To us, those two words conjured images of home, family and long-time friends. Where you from? “Down East.”

My connection with those two simple words runs deep, so there was no surprise that when I learnt of a genealogy website named “Down East” I had to check it out.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

