Column: Living Like an Ancestor

Between today and Saturday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Tuesday: The Kings County Record (Sussex)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin

Thursday: The Western Star (Corner Brook)

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Title: Living Like an Ancestor

Snippet: About fifteen months ago, I began on the path to a more self-sufficient life style. It was a journey both of self-discovery and of learning. I searched the Internet for information on animals and plants—ones small farms raised a hundred years ago—and for locations to buy these things.

My philosophy from the beginning was to seek out plants and animals which not only thrived in Atlantic Canada’s environment but also had been around for a century or more. These species would need less intervention to produce, ultimately saving money, time and frustration.

As I planned for my first summer as a farmer, I wrote down a few things I could produce in our short growing season that would reduce my need for the grocery store. By the time October arrived, my dependency on large food chains reduced a wee bit. Granted, it was only a wee bit, hardly noticeable. I no longer needed to buy eggs or onions, and had a supply of potatoes for two months.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

2 thoughts on “Column: Living Like an Ancestor

  1. Hi Diane: I recall that back in the 1970’s I went to the National Archives in Ottawa to research a Nova Scotia newspaper for indications that a Farmers Union (active in Upper Canada) may have reached the Maritimes. I forget the name of the paper, but it was old, and centered somewhere in Annapolis Valley, and I was required to wear white gloves and turn the pages slowly. After all of my research I was able to add one line to my essay indicating that I had done the study and did not find any evidence that the Union had been established in Nova Scotia. However, I also remember that there were a number of articles in that newspaper of the day that dealt with the growing of apples and things in the valley area by early settlers. Just a thought. I no longer have a copy of the paper I wrote on the subject. Cheers, Carl.

  2. Would love to see how you are managing with this. If you know about BC you will know that it has been a thing here for ages. I live in the city so I don’t have the square footage for success. But raised beds do help. There is so much to learn and it all is relative to where you live. My first husband was from North Sydney, he was a character. Came from a line of sailing men. Last name of Wells.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

