Column: Mrs. Beeton’s Household Management

Between today and Saturday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Tuesday: The Kings County Record (Sussex)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin

Thursday: The Western Star (Corner Brook)

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Title: Mrs. Beeton’s Household Management

Snippet: When my mother churned cream into butter in the 1930s, she didn’t refer to a cookbook to see how it was done. The recipe had been taught to her by her mother who had gained the knowledge from her mother. Whether the directions were ever written down for it, and dozens of other basic foods used daily in a home, is unknown.

If I could time travel back to 1910 when my grandmother was being taught how to make butter, cheese and soap, I’d stand next to great-grandmother and learn alongside her daughter. I’d ask questions and practise until I got it perfect. Then I’d write down the instructions and return to my time period to make these things from my own goat’s milk.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

4 thoughts on “Column: Mrs. Beeton’s Household Management

  1. Love your article! So true. My husband learned his mother’s recipes later in his life. He stood by her side when she stewed a cod and found out how to do it exactly like her. Consequently he makes her best recipes without ever writing anything down. Wish I could read the article in the Western Star, from Corner Brook, my old stomping grounds. We now read The Telegram. Can you possibly have it included in this paper?

    • It’s difficult to get a column into a newspaper these days. It’s all about cut backs and trimming the fat. Just last month, the Journal-Pioneer in Summerside, PEI, wrote to tell me they were focussing more on local writers and stories, so were cutting my Roots to the Past column.

      Newspapers are having a hard go with everyone using the Internet. It makes no sense to me why a newspaper permits the public to read their stories for free online. Writers still need to be paid for their work.

      I’m certain I tried to sell my column to The Telegram a few years ago, but they decided not to take it.

  2. Good article. Being a Beeton, I have researched much of my family history and, of course, the famous cook book organizer Mrs Beeton. She was my great great aunt. Just for interest, did you know that her 4th son, Sir Mason Beeton – as a representative and surveyor to Lords Northcliffe and Rothermere of the London Daily Mail, came to Newfoundland and explored Terra Nova, Gander, and the Exploits River waterways in search of a location for a new paper mill? He was satisfied that Grand Falls was the perfect spot and so the A.N.D. Company came to be. After helping to negotiate water, timber and power rights the mill was built and the town of what would later be known as Grand Falls Windsor was born. Apparently he was a founding father of the town.

    Keeep up the interesting work!

Please share your thoughts on this post.

