Names Lacked Variety in History

Between today and Saturday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Tuesday: The Kings County Record (Sussex)

Wednesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin

Thursday: The Western Star (Corner Brook)

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Title: Names Lacked Variety in History

Snippet: It’s been more than nine years since I sat with a list of names on my lap, looking for the perfect one for a child. Being a writer of fiction, I have plenty of resources. Books and websites abound with names from cultures world-wide. Often they include meanings or origins. Thousands upon thousands of names crossed in front of my eyes on the search to find the ideal one for my boy.

If I hadn’t found one I loved, I could have easily done what many others have and created a new name. Combining two names such as Dale and Viola to make Vidalia is one example. Or a place could have served as a name such as Sydney, Dakota or Cheyenne. Flowers also make great names: Daisy, Hyacinth and Buttercup. Over the years, many children have been given the names of the month in which they were born: May, April and June.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

4 thoughts on “Names Lacked Variety in History

  1. Here’s me grandkids: Memphis Raine, Pheonix Storme, Vienna Mysst, Atlanta Solstice. Being the grandmom you get no say but I actually like the names. It begs the question “do kids live up to their names?” I can’t see my kids being called anything else but theirs. Genealogically speaking though, what a headache the repetitive naming system was. Don’t know that the ancestors ever though of straying from their tiny communities though!

    • Those are awesome names. I can’t even pick a favourite. Raine, Storme, Mysst and Solstice are right out of novel. Mmm, perhaps I’ll make note of them. They could be siblings who join forces to fight evil. lol.

      Thanks for dropping by.

  2. Thought that was funny that you should pick Vidella as an example. My great Aunt from Nova Scotia was named that. When she moved to the states she shortened it to Della.

    • The name Vidalia has stuck with me since the country song by the same name sung by Sammy Kershaw came on the radio about 15 to 20 years ago. It’s also the name of an onion. Thanks for visiting.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

