Column: One-Name Study for Common Names

Between today and Saturday, my genealogy column, Roots to the Past, is available in the following Atlantic Canada newspapers:

Tuesday: The Lunenburg County Progress Bulletin

Tuesday: The Kings County Record (Sussex)

Thursday: The Western Star (Corner Brook)

Saturday: The Citizen (Amherst)

Saturday: Times & Transcript (Moncton)

Title: One-Name Study for Common Names

Snippet: Put your hand up if you have a John Smith in your family tree. How about a Jane Baker or a William McDonald? If you have more than one hand up, you have my sympathies. At times when I search for my ancestors named William McDonald, I find every other man except my great-grandfather and great great-grandfather. More problems arise when I try and find the Jane Baker who married the Wm. A. McDonald.

Although I can grumble and wish my ancestors used unique names, it still doesn’t solve the problem: 95% of the information found for someone with a common name won’t apply to the ancestor I seek.

. . . To read more, pick up one of the above noted newspapers.

Please share your thoughts on this post.

